I know, I know–I promised a fashion post. Instead, you get more food. I’m going to loosely join in on this week’s What I Ate Wednesday. Since it IS Wednesday, and I’m certainly not done eating yet, I’m going to post my dinners from the past two nights. Mostly because breakfast is oatmeal and my lunch can be found in this post. Neither is particularly interesting. I am also proud that I have made a real dinner two whole nights in a row. I even fed myself AND another person last night!

Monday Dinner

What in the world was I making?

Spinach socca! (Chickpea flatbread) I’m trying to eat more greens without actually having to, you know, eat more greens. Great socca recipes can be found from spabettie and pure2raw.

To go with the socca, I made the “nacho cheese” nutritional yeast dip/sauce from The 30-Minute Vegan. It is delicious, but it is not cheese. I also didn’t pause to take a picture of the finished product before consuming.

Tuesday Night

My roommate recently traveled to Iowa. I joked that I wanted him to bring me back corn. And he actually did. So, cold rainy weather + corn? Chowder and biscuits! Okay, okay–”biscuits.” I’ll display my failure first:

The dough was way too wet. Rather than add flour and then cut out real biscuits like a normal human being, I decided to splop the sticky mess down in one GIANT biscuit. It didn’t exactly get light and fluffy or at all biscuity, but it DID taste delicious, thanks to mostly being this recipe. Lime in biscuits? Sounds odd, tastes amazing. I just renamed it to “flatbread.” What was a success was my corn chowder.

Vegan Corn Chowder

4 ears of corn–slice off kernels

1/2 onion, chopped

1 Tbsp vegan margarine (or you could go healthier with olive oil)

Hot green peppers (I went with one GIANT jalapeno–seriously, size of my hand–and a serrano, but I like things HOT. If you prefer mild corn chowder, you could use green bell pepper), chopped

Spices (I went with a pinch of cumin and generous helpings of paprika and chili powder–I mentioned I like hot, right? Oh yeah–and salt and pepper.)

1.5 cups Coconut milk (the canned sort–can use lite)

1.5 cups Veggie broth

Melt the margarine in a large saucepan, add onion and saute for a few minutes, then add corn and hot pepper. Give it a few more minutes. Add the rest of the ingredients. If you need more liquid, add coconut/veggie at a 1/1 ratio. Let it cook for about 10 minutes, then scoop out some and put it through the blender. I like my chowder with lots of bits and pieces remaining, so I didn’t blend much of the mix–this is up to you. Put it all back in the pot, get it nice and hot, serve!

