Okay, so maybe one of my August goals should have been take better pictures. But that would involve the sub-goal of take pictures when it is light out. But early mornings and evenings just so happens to be when my food is out and ready to go. It would also help if I made some food that wasn’t beige. So you can just enjoy (or not) the pictures accompanying my weekend cooking.

And confession: I’m a little bit of a passive-aggressive roommate. Roommates, did you and your entire party get home with significant amounts of noise at 4:30AM on both Saturday and Sunday? Well then, get ready to experience noisy pancake-making-time one hour later. You’re welcome.

Apple Pie Pancakes

I woke up with all intention of making coffee pancakes, as suggested by Michelle, but drank two cups of coffee before getting started, and more coffee sounded unnecessary (although still delicious).

This recipe makes enough for one me, which is probably enough for two of anyone else. I love my pancakes.

  • 1/2 C spelt flour
  • 3/4 t baking powder
  • LOTS of cinnamon
  • SOME freshly ground nutmeg (or the preground kind)
  • 1/2 C applesauce
  • 1 t vanilla
  • Enough milk-of-choice to make your thickness-of-choice batter

Mix the dry, add in the wet. Pancake time! Smother with maple syrup. And if you’re like me, eat ‘em with a spoonful of peanut butter (or two).

Oatmeal Cookie Pancake

Sunday morning meant more pancake. I adapted the Chocolate-Chip Cookie Dough Pancake recipe from Chocolate Covered Katie. By “adapted,” I mean, “Left out the chocolate chips and made one HUGE pancake instead of multiple pancakes.”

Mango-Coconut Cobbler

This was based off of the Coconut Mango Cobbler recipe from Spabettie, although I changed up amounts and ingredients and used coconut flour for the cobbler part–yum. I shared with my roommates, does that make up for the 5:30am pancake noise?

 

Golden Larablars

I was inspired by Miriam to try making some Larabar-style bars at home. Being the cheap-o that I am, I avoided cashews, dates and those other would-be-nice ingredients and went almonds, dried apricots and golden raisins.

These came out delicious but were flimsy and very sticky (hence the classy inclusion of saran wrap), so they were individually wrapped and tucked in the freezer. Mmm, frozen fruity-crunchy treats!

 

