Housesitting is quite fabulous. Especially since I finally saw the sun (for a few minutes) yesterday. I think that means today will be warm, beautiful and bright. I’ve gotten in plenty of reading and am off on four or five different crafting adventures (yes, there will be pictures soon). I thought I’d pop in to let you know I’m alive, remind everyone of the Canning Linkup, Round 3 that JamieAnne and I will be hosting on Monday (check out round 1 and round 2 for some tutorials, and get ready to join us with any canning-related post you may have!) and to post about my adventures in making Arepas.

Arepas, you ask? They are like a cross between cornbread and polenta and are made from masa harina–gluten-free, for those who are so inclined. Basically, I wanted an excuse to use the cast iron pan I have access to this weekend.

Round 1: I followed the recipe from The Thirteenth Diet, although I couldn’t exactly “roll out” the dough, as it is the texture of, well, a sticky mess (if you’ve ever made polenta from scratch, you know what I’m talking about). There was pretty much no taste to this, which was okay enough since I ate it will a bowl of tasty tex-mex tofu scramble (a.k.a. tofu scramble with black beans, bell pepper and fajita seasoning).

Round 2: I added lime juice, lime zest, tons of chili powder and cumin, and doubled the baking powder. Much better. The texture of these arepas was fantastic. I left them thicker, so the outside was crispy and the inside was like soft and warm polenta. This recipe will be a great polenta-substitute throughout the winter (especially since I have about 5 lbs more masa flour to go through…).

