It’s time for another canning link up with me and JamieAnne! (And her amazing-looking canned apple pie filling!) If you want to check out my previous recipes and ideas for canning, check out round 1 and jam or round 2 and tomato sauce. And click below to add your canning-related link or see what other great canning bloggers are up to!



This round, I’m going to talk about bread and butter pickles. And my grandma. She passed away before I got a chance to really know her (and my grandfather passed away even earlier than that), but she was one of those awesome grandmothers that made delicious old fashioned food. Homemade noodles in beef gravy, liverwurst, homemade English muffins, gooey cinnamon buns and bread and butter pickles.

I love the memories and associations that come with some food items. And I love how food connects us to family, friends and the past. This is part of my love for canning–not only is it practical, but it connects me to generations of canners before me (especially you, Grandma Kathryn!).

(Please note that my grandpa was an OG hipster, please and thank you.)

And now every spring, when the garden is overflowing with cucumbers, my mom and I set aside a weekend to spend together and can pickles Grandma Kathryn-style (so, this grandmother was my dad’s mom. But details, details…).

Bread and Butter Pickles

  • Large bowl full of thinly sliced cucumbers
  • 6 onions, sliced into thin rings
  • 2 bell peppers, sliced thinly
  • 1/2 C coarse salt (non-iodized)
  • 1 C water
  • 1.5 C sugar
  • 2.5 C vinegar
  • 1 T mustard seed
  • 1/2 t turmeric
  • 1/2 t whole cloves

Dissolve the salt in the water and pour over your bowl of sliced cucumbers, onion and pepper. Put ice on top of the cucumbers, weigh it all down with a plate and let it sit for 3 hours. Drain. This ice-and-salt bath ensures your pickles keep some of their crunch!

Boil the remaining ingredients together, add in the drained veggies and bring it all to the boiling point (but do not boil).

Put the pickles and liquid in your canning jars and process (boil ‘em) for 10 minutes. If you want better step-by-step directions for how exactly to fill and process canning jars, check out either of my previous two canning posts!

And if you missed this round, come back in 2 weeks for more canning fun!

