What do you call a car that requires you to shift gears? No, this isn’t a set up for a bad joke. I call mine a “standard,” but clearly, this isn’t the standard any more, and few people know what I’m talking about when I use that term. A stick-shift? A manual?

So why this discussion of standards? Well, I wanted to What-I-Ate-Wednesday (Darn right I use that as a verb), but I’m pretty sure I eat the same thing every weekday.

  • The standard bowl of PB&J oatmeal.
  • The standard leftovers-on-lettuce.
  • The standard piece of fruit.
  • The standard socca and roasted veggies.
  • The standard protein powder and banana smoothie.

But WAIT–there’s a new standard in town: The Gingerbread Quinoa Flake Cake.

It looks like this:

Which isn’t particularly exciting. But if you were thinking, “Hey, I’d like something cake-like, I’d like it to be gingerbread, I want it in minutes and I’d like it to be crazily good for me,” then trust me, looks aren’t everything.

Gingerbread Quinoa Flake Cake

  • 1/2 C Quinoa flakes
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • 1/4 t baking powder
  • Lots of cinnamon
  • Generous sprinkle of nutmeg and ginger
  • 1/2 C Applesauce
  • 1 T molasses

You may want to add a smidge more sweetener (such as brown sugar) if you  have more of a sweet tooth than me. Whisk up your dry, stir in the wet, microwave for 4 minutes. Yep, it’s that easy. Cake in 4 minutes.

Recipe inspired by Healthful Pursuit.

Do you eat certain things over and over? What are your standards?

