Through Stephanie, I found this amazing giveaway from Jen at Light Enough to Travel. If you win her food photography competition, you get a for-real handmade (handpainted?) painting of your photo! Too cool. Now I’m no photographer, but I love art and I love food–so this sounded like it was worth the effort. And Jen has some great and easy tips for taking better food pictures. I sometimes get overwhelmed by tutorials, but her advice is so simple.

My go-to photography angle needs to be shaken up, as it tends to involve a lot of overhead shots like so:

So I definitely needed to heed Jen’s advice to use creative angles. And I know the most important one is to find good lighting, but as winter approaches and days get shorter (and more depressing), that gets harder and harder to do. But guess what? I’m working from home (since my company is moving offices and right now we have no desks…I think there was a lack of planning somewhere along the line there), and that means I get to perch my meals (and my face) in some indirect daylight! I could have used some garnish, but hey, baby steps here.

My submission photo:

So what did I make? Stir fry! I made a trip to the international market I live near (and am obsessed with) and picked up a few new fun ingredients like brown rice vermicelli and tamarind concentrate. So with basically five ingredients and five minutes, I give you dinner (Or lunch. Or maybe breakfast if you’re feeling particularly out-of-the-box.):

Easy Not-Any-Sort-of-Authentic Stir Fry

  • Oil of choice (I used sesame)
  • Brown rice vermicelli noodles
  • Veggies of choice (zucchini and summer squash are pictured)
  • 1T Good soy sauce
  • 3T Tamarind concentrate

Heat your oil. Soak your noodles in tap-temperature water for five minutes, or until they soften. Saute your veggies lightly, add in the noodles, dump in your sauce. Stir everything around over high heat until it looks done. Enjoy!

I also used some of the above ingredients to make some clean-out-the-freezer Pea’d Thai (ohh, there’s no stopping me when it comes to naming food) based on this mock pad-thai recipe, but it wasn’t nearly as photogenic. Yes, I’ll blame the food, not the assembler.

What are your favorite photography tips? Do you like taking pictures of food/spend much time assembling your food photo shoots?

