While frantically shoving things in boxes this weekend, I found my copy of The Vegan Slow Cooker by Kathy Hester. I got this book for Christmas and despite being excited about it, well, never used it. So I got thoroughly distracted from the real task at hand, cracked it open, flipped through, and found the amazing-sounding Sweet Potato and Chard Dal (the recipe is also available here on Kathy’s Healthy Slow Cooking blog). Instead of chard I used mustard greens. Because they were cheaper. Simple, easy and delicious.

I think this means I should use my cookbooks more often. Or move more often? Oh, I hope not…

Because the beauty of crockpots is no-muss no-fuss readiness…I’m sharing my recipe for a side that’s almost as easy. And on the opposite end of the time spectrum. I love yeasted bread. I make it maybe once a year. I like quick bread. I make it maybe once every other month. But really quick bread? I’ll make this daily.

Don’t expect a french baguette out of you microwave, but if you have a craving for bread, need a quick item to dunk with or spread dip on (for those who are too classy to eat hummus with a spoon), here’s your recipe!

Really Quick Bread

Bread for 1 in 3 minutes? Okay.

  • 1/4c Buckwheat flour (I’m sure this would work with other flours)
  • 1T Protein powder (use the powder that best matches the kind of bread you want–unsweetened/hemp-style for a savory bread to be dunked in soup, sweetened for a breakfast-type bread to be slathered with PB or jam)
  • 1/2t-1t baking powder (I love the taste of bp, so I go 1t, but it works with 1/2 if you’re not a fan)
  • Sprinkle of salt
  • 1/4c almond milk
  • 1T ground flax or chia (This can be omitted, you’ll just have a much crumblier end product that requires a fork rather than fingers)

Mix it all up in a microwavable bowl. Microwave 1.5 minutes. Loosen the edges with a fork, pop out your bread.

You might as well give it a try. You only have 1.5 minutes to lose.

And during that 1.5 minutes, you can add your (old or new) crockpot/slow-cooker posts to my and JamieAnne’s link up…



