Is it possible to make food that satisfies both a primal and a vegan diet?  Yup. Coconut macaroons and asparagus tart are a great place to start, but, if those don’t tickle your fancy, I put some blondie bars together.

I went over to Primal Paul’s place last night (I’ve decided to name him, since repeatedly using my-now-former-roommate-and-current-friend-who-eats-a-primal-diet is starting to get awkward), and, since he was grilling meat, I ate dinner at home and then brought over dessert.

Primal and Vegan Blondie Spice Bars

(gluten-free, grain-free, dairy-free, sugar-free)

Please note that I even got out a real camera and tried my hand at food styling for this picture…Food styling which would have been more successful if I’d remembered to move the tube wall spackle out of the background. Baby steps.

These blondies are basic as-is, so I leave it up to you to add chocolate/dried fruit/healthy (or unhealthy) frosting. Feel free to jazz them up!

  • 1/2 C coconut flour and almond flour (in combination/ratio of your choice)
  • 3/4t baking powder
  • Spices: 1/2t cinnamon, 1/2t ground ginger, 1/4t nutmeg, etc.
  • 4T flax seed, ground
  • 1/2 C apple sauce
  • 1/4 C (or more, for a wet but not runny final consistency) sugar-free soda (I had some Stevia-based rootbeer in the fridge–use what you have, you really can’t taste it)

Preheat oven to 350. Grease a loaf pan. Blend your applesauce and ground flax seed and let sit while you mix the dry ingredients together. Add in the flax/apple mix, stir lightly, then add your soda. Spread into your pan, and bake for 25 minutes. Let cool, then slice into bars and enjoy.

