In addition to providing the location for a relaxing weekend and putting up with me at my best and worst, my parents always say goodbye by sending me home with plenty of food (and while I protest that I’m quite competent at buying my own food these days–you’re never too old for your parents to say “I love you” with food). This trip involved the gift of fresh beets. We all know I’m a sucker for beets (and that I’ve planted four rows of them in my garden), so I celebrated (yes, I celebrate free vegetables) with some beet curry and a coconut flat bread to go with it.

Curried Beets

  • 4 or 5 small beets, sliced into matchsticks
  • Beet greens from 4 or 5 small beets, roughly chopped
  • 1/2t chili powder
  • 1/2t turmeric
  • 1/2t cumin
  • Salt, to taste
  • Coconut oil

Heat coconut oil in a sauce pan, then add beets and spices. Cook while covered, adding a little water to the bottom to prevent burning. Add in greens after 7ish minutes, cook for another 7ish more.

Coconut-chickpea Flatbread (Coconut Socca)

  • 1/2c garbanzo/fava bean flour
  • 2T coconut flour
  • 3/4c water
  • Coconut oil

Heat oil in frying pan. Stir flours and water together–add more water if necessary to get a wet, spreadable batter. Pour batter into hot pan, cook 5ish minutes, flip, cook 5ish more.

And the most important part of enjoying this meal?

Outdoor Dining

That’s the table on my patio, since I managed not to actually get the outdoors in this picture. I also ate at least twice as many beets as pictured, it’s just hard to get food to the table before chowing down on something

