I may be a day late, but I couldn’t let Mother’s Day pass without a post about my wonderful, beautiful, amazing mother. Finding pictures of my mom is difficult. Finding pictures of my mom and I? Even harder. I have a camera-shy family. This is the most recent one of us. And it’s from Christmas.

I’m writing this post while sipping tea and giving the ol’ side-eye to the book sitting next to me–how else would I know to appreciate these things if not for the wonderful woman pictured above?

Everything I love to do and all the skills I have come from her (short of Internet-and-computer-using, I must have put that one together on my own). Gardening, sewing, knitting, cooking, reading and more–life wouldn’t be as awesome, creative and enjoyable as it is without her guidance! And without her support? I don’t know where I’d be. She encourages my crazy ideas like buying a house and taking on projects I’d otherwise deem over my head. I know I can reach for more and push myself to achieve more, because she is there.

My mom has shaped my values, my ideas and who I am as a person–and most certainly for the better! Without her sweetness, friendliness and general caring for others, my dad and I would have no balance to our matching stubbornness and a hermit-like “bah-humbug” attitude toward life and people. She sees the positive in everyone and everything. She is generous, understanding and amazingly capable.

So Dear Mom: I wouldn’t be who I am today without you, and I wouldn’t be where I am in life (and I’m in a very very good place right now) without your love, support and influence. I owe you more than I can even begin to fathom. I love spending time together, walking and talking about life and dropping wet paintbrushes on your head (if you ever volunteer to help me paint a room again, that is…). You are a beautiful, wonderful and wise mother, and I know how lucky I am every day of the year, even if it takes a holiday to make me put it in words!

