I love living local, so with that, I’m using this Week in Review to review…one day. Of living eating in the lap of local luxury. I’d apologize to Meghan for skewing her link-up into a What-I-Ate-Saturday, but I know she shares my passion for fresh ingredients–so maybe I’ll get a pass on this one?

local3

One of my favorite things to do on Saturdays is drive to the Franklin Farmer’s Market. This bustling hub of high-end farm-snobbery isn’t where I get much produce, but it is where I get the world’s most amazing biscuit sandwiches (from the Biscuit Love Truck) that are chock-full of local eggs and cheese on perfect, tangy scratch-made biscuits. This week the market also featured two rather cute dudes from local roasters Eighth and Roast serving up what they promised would be the best cup of coffee I ever had. Now, I will vote for it as pretty damn good and, perhaps, the most caffeinated cup of caffeine, but best? Well, I’ll just have to do some more research about that one. As soon as I work through these caffeine-withdrawal shakes…

And true to my current lame-blogger form, I forgot my camera. There was no way I was waiting and not chomping and slurping down on the drive home. You can just imagine how spectacular the biscuit was.

local1

The local love wasn’t over after that brunch (meaning, I also ate breakfast and lunch, but wedged a giant biscuit meal in between), since I had big party plans for the evening. I went all out, by getting all my food in (from my garden).

local2

From top to bottom:

  • Quinoa-Caprese salad featuring homegrown cherry tomatoes and basil.
  • Fruit salad contributed by the lovely Heather and man-friend.
  • I’ll have you know that, “London” tag aside, Burnett’s is straight out of Kentucky. Practically homemade!
  • Roast veggies featuring my own rosemary, zucchini and eggplants and my parents’ yellow squash.
  • Mediterranean Chevre from my favorite Noble Springs Dairy, served with homegrown tomatoes and cukes and homemade oat flatbread.

I also roasted up two chickens from my Hidden Springs Farm CSA. Local, loved and fresh food just tastes better!

Do you like to eat local? Best local goods you’ve found lately?

