Dies the Fire, by S.M. Sterling

Good lord this was a cheesy book. About the apocalypse (sort of). How do you make the apocalypse cheesy? Apparently, just ask S.M. Sterling. I did finish the book, so I can’t say it was all bad. And I knew what I was getting into, as I’m pretty sure I tried to read something of his before but gave up. The idea behind it is great–due to a mysterious event, electricity and combustion are gone. People start starving, fighting, reliving medieval times and cannibalizing. How can it go wrong? Throw in love triangles, magic (Why is that necessary here? And I’m even a fan of magic!), ridiculous characters, improbability and good dash of flat evil overlord.

Overall disappointment. And I’m pretty easy to please when it comes to tales of the-end-of-the-world-as-we-know (and I feel fine…REM anyone?). What’s your favorite apocalyptic story/movie? I need some recommendations for future reading.

Next on the reading list? Still Life with Woodpecker by Tom Robbins.

