The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger

I’d read this book years ago for a class and remembered liking it but also that I’d had to read it for class (takes a lot out of a book). I decided to pick it back up for that reason (and I want to do better at reading more classics). And because my original hometown is making the oh-so-classy move of trying to ban this book. In 2011. Can we get over banning books already, please?

Read it in less than 2 days and was blown away. Maybe because I’ve been feeling a little lost in life recently, or maybe because I just never realized how amazing this book is. I can’t rave enough about this book that’s been raved about for years, but I am so glad I picked it back up and tried it again. I can still feel this book in my chest (I don’t know how else to describe a book that just sticks with you and has such an impact on your mindset). I can’t believe I read it once already and just completely missed it.

