Rather than a What I Ate Wednesday, I’m going to give you a What I Ate Weekend, garden-to-table edition.

Beets

I know, I know–they’re a love ’em or hate ’em sort of food. I happen to love them and have a fridge-drawer-full left to use.

Roast Beets and Garam Greens

Beets: Cut in half, sprinkle with salt and pepper, wrap in aluminum foil, roast in oven. Simple and delicious.

Greens: Saute greens with olive oil, salt, pepper and garam masala. Beet greens make my teeth feel weird.

Cucumber

My own cucumber-growing attempts failed rather spectacularly, so these were a particular treat.

Fresh Pickles

  • Cucumber, in thin rounds
  • Half an onion, sliced
  • Equal parts apple cider vinegar and water
  • Salt and pepper

Mix it all up and put it in the fridge. Let it sit an hour, a day, a week. Enjoy easy fresh fridge pickles!

Peppers

Bell peppers, banana peppers, jalapenos–they all grow like crazy around here.

Peppers in Peanut Sauce

This is a highly inaccurate representation of how much peanut sauce actually ended up on this dish. Fill that bowl the rest of way with sauce, and you’ll begin to get the idea. Saute your peppers, add your protein of choice (seitan here), serve over your choice of grain/noodle.

Peanut Sauce:

  • 2T thai curry paste, or other source of heat (optional)
  • 1 can lite coconut milk
  • 1/2 C water or broth
  • 1/2 C peanut butter (I used crunchy, smooth would work fine)
  • Zest from one lime plus juice from one lime

Dump in all in a pot, heat until it thickens just a little.

Summer Squash and Zucchini

Mexican Squash ‘Tilla

Saute your zucchini and summer squash with some chili powder or taco/enchilada seasoning. Put a tortilla in a pan, pile on the the squash, top with vegan cheese and heat it all (the cheese was supposed to melt, but we all know how vegan cheese lies in so many ways). I recommend a cold beer accompaniment (such as a Trader Jose Dark).

