I disappeared from the internet this weekend. I didn’t even get out a real camera. Why? Because my weekend looked a little like this:

Would you have left the porch? And wow, that is an unflattering angle for legs. I promise I’m wearing shorts.

Weekend Highlights:

  • Single girl’s single guy’s night in on Friday. I bought beer, made pizza and flopped on the couch with the original Fast & Furious. Yes, I think I do bachelor quite well.
  • Used book shopping. And old book returning ($45.67 in credit! Be still, my book-loving heart).
  • Ethiopian food. For the first time ever. A restaurant that doesn’t even offer silverware? That’s my style of eating (I will forever argue for salad as finger food–can anyone actually get lettuce neatly on a fork?). And the food was amazing! Especially the spongy sourdough flatbread they give you to eat with.
  • Feeling deliciously out of place. Saw a friend’s band perform at a bar populated by “young professionals.” I may be a young professional, but I am not “young professional.” I showed up in my bright red hair, jean shorts and a casual tee. While the other bar-goers wore slacks and polos or skirts and pearls.
  • A visit from my mom. And subsequent iced-latte-drinking and mall-shopping.
  • Banana Oatmeal Cookies
  • Wait–those aren’t banana oatmeal cookies. Yes, I started with a cookie recipe. I even got half of the recipe in the bowl. And then it became…

Buckwheat Banana Muffins

How? Why? I don’t know, but these are delicious. They are just the right amount of dense and are moist with a hint of banana and a hint of sweet. They make the perfect breakfast (especially when spread with a little–or a lot of–peanut butter).

Ingredients:

3 Overripe bananas, mashed

2T Ground flax seed

1/2 C Almond milk/milk of choice

1/4 C Agave nectar

1t Vanilla

2t Cinnamon (or, if you are me, just dump ridiculously large amounts of cinnamon in)

3t Baking powder

1/2t Salt

1/2 C Buckwheat flour

3/4 C Flours (I used 1/4 C white, 1/4 C chickpea, 1/4 C spelt–this is one of those use-up-what-you-have recipes)

Mix wet, sift in dry. You may need to add a little more milk depending on your flours of choice. You want a thick spoon-able batter. Grease up your muffin tins (this made 10 muffins for me). Bake at 350F for 25-35 minutes.

