A Visit from the Goon Squad, by Jennifer Egan

Gotta admit, mostly bought this book so I could hit Amazon’s $25 free shipping mark when purchasing Catching Fire. Best now-I-don’t-have-to-pay-shipping choice ever. This book is quirky and engaging and has some of the best characterization I’ve read in a long time. In fact, this book is characters rather than plot or even writing (although the writing is excellent). The novel breaks down into some avant-garde stuff and an unnecessary last chapter (in my opinion), but the first 5/6ths are amazing enough that I can forgive the ending. This book is a Pulitzer Prize winner, and for good reason. It is a quality book written with skill, emotion and understanding. And while the story (I can’t say plot, as this isn’t a “plot” book) revolves around the music industry, you can be a complete music-boor like me and still enjoy it.

