It’s Friday, that magical day! And I will make it through a day at the office, because solo date night is tonight–and I can’t wait.

Every month Yummy Chunklet posts about Ina’s Garden, a community challenge to take on recipes by Ina Garten. I happen to be a huge Barefoot Contessa fan (is there any more soothing/dreamy/classy cooking show out there?) and have wanted to participate for a while. This month, I did it! I tackled the Indian Summer challenge and made an interpretation of her Roasted Tomato Basil Soup. I shared my version of the recipe with my mom, and she also approved. So there. My mom likes it.

Roasted Tomato Basil Soup

Serves 2

  • Plum tomatoes (Enough to fill a large baking sheet when sliced in half)
  • Half an onion, chopped
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1-2t dried thyme (or other herb of choice)
  • 1C or more of fresh basil, chopped
  • Your non-dairy milk of choice
  • Vegan margarine (or olive oil, I suppose)

Cut your tomatoes in half, lay them on a baking sheet covered in aluminum foil, sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Roast at 350F for 40 minutes, then broil for another 5 or so.

Saute your onion and garlic with your margarine and dried herbs until the onion is translucent. Now break out the blender and blend all your ingredients with enough milk to make it as thick or thin as you want. Throw your soup back in a pan on the stove to get it up to a nice and hot temperature, then enjoy!

This soup has so much flavor andย  a hint of late-summer sweetness. Perfect.

Well, perfect when enjoyed with a vegan version of the classic tomato soup accompaniment:

