So, you may or may not know by now–I set a goal each month to try one new food a week. You can check out August, May and June, or just look below for September’s tries!

Week One: Masa Harina

What I Did with It

I made Arapas and Mexican Shepherd’s Pie.

What I Thought of It

I love it’s texture and consistency which is somewhere between regular flour and cornmeal. It is a little plain on its own (well, it is just flour) but spices up great!

Week Two: Red Bean Paste

What I Did with It

Put it on a rice cake. With dramatic lighting.

What I Thought of It

Oh, I’m supposed to eat the rice cake too? You sure I can’t just lick it off?

Week Three: Fufu Flour

What I Did with It

I made Fufu and Red Red.

What I Thought of It

Fufu and I had so much fun. Have you always wanted to live out that childhood dream of eating Play-Doh? Well, now’s your chance. And, you know, it’s a great accompaniment for soups and curry dishes and all that jazz.

Week Four: Quinoa Flakes

What I Did with It

This may be a bit of a cheat item–it’s not a new food, but it’s definitely a second-chance food. I made it a few times as hot cereal, and strongly disliked the odd taste accompanying it. However, I gave it another go with gingerbread quinoa flake cake.

What I Though of It

But why’s the quinoa gone? Ohh, I’m almost too much of a dork sometimes. Almost. But, much like me and nutritional yeast, I’m glad I gave this another go. Quinoa cakes are my new favorite just-home-from-work treat.

