The Kite Runner,  byKhaled HosseiniI missed out on reading this book when it was all the rage but am glad I got around to it finally. I found this book interesting, but I didn’t love it as much as I expected based on everything that’s been said about it (and a lot has certainly been said). Maybe my expectations were too high.

This book progresses a little too neatly. Everything comes full circle and fits together perfectly, and there are no real stumbling blocks in between introduction and resolution. The plot gets you to the next part of the plot, and I don’t feel as though the main character was redeemed or his issues were resolved–he simply had no choice but to make amends due to how clearly and linearly the story progressed. Additionally bad characters are clearly and consistently bad, while good characters are clearly and consistently good, and there is little explanation of why this is the case for either.

This book is supposed to be overwhelmingly “moving,” but I didn’t feel any strong emotion one way or the other (maybe the result of how inevitable the plot and character development seems) until the last paragraph. The last paragraph. I don’t think it should take an entire book to construct one “moving” sentence that still seems contrived only to force that feeling.

One more spoiler-filled note: This book glossed over what it would be like to bring an emotionally and physically scarred child to a new country. Oh whoop-di-doo, he didn’t talk for a year. I’m just going to go ahead and guess that a child from a war-torn country who had been repeatedly raped and had attempted his own suicide is going to have a little more trouble fitting in than just not talking for a while.

Overall, I did find this to be a book worth reading, but there are so many books that cover war, class and redemption infinitely better.

