An update on my life…

Yesterday and the insanity flowers: I blocked him on gchat, deleted him from facebook and asked my roommate (who is vaguely his friend) to have a few words with him about the real world and living in it.

Last night: Saw Childish Gambino. Amazing show. The kid can do it all. Worth coming to work on three hours of sleep (at least right now. Ask me again in a few hours when zombie-mode has kicked in).

Weekend plans: Driving to see the fam and spend a weekend reading, letting someone else cook for me and accomplishing absolutely nothing of external value.

And as promised…

Butternut Squasherole

This squash casserole is delicious as a vegan entree with a side of salad or some green veggies. If you aren’t a veggie, this casserole is a great side dish to meat-like things. Simple, easy, filling and tastes like fall!

Ingredients

  • 2 small to medium butternut squash
  • 3/4 C quinoa
  • 1/2 C nutritional yeast
  • Dried Italian spices of your choice, to taste
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Walnut pieces

Roast your squash. I mangle mine into sort of quarters, place it cut side down on a cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil, and bake at 375 for about 30 minutes (until the squash is soft and the squash juices have started to ooze out). Let it cool.

Cook your quinoa. I do about 1 1/4 C water for my 3/4 C quinoa. You want a cooked product that is dry and fluffy rather than mushy.

Assemble your casserole. Scoop out the butternut flesh and puree half of it in a blender. Roughly mash the other half so that you will still have some slightly larger pieces of squash in your casserole. Stir everything together, and put it in a lightly oiled casserole dish. The first time I made this I stirred in the walnut pieces with everything else, and it was good. The second time I forgot and ended up putting the walnut pieces on top. I liked them on top better (they get toasty!), but both are delicious, so I’ll leave that decision up to you.

Bake your casserole. At 350 for 25 or so minutes. Fresh out of the oven it will be hot, soft and delicious. Leave leftovers in the fridge and you’ll get a firmer casserole.

And since I have so many squash left to use (not at all a bad thing), I’ve been browsing for some inspiration:

Any squash recipes I should try or that you want to try? Are you ready for the weekend?

