Slaughterhouse-Five, by Kurt Vonnegut

I don’t know how I missed out on so many classics like this one, Brave New World, War of the Worlds and more, but I’m glad I’m finally getting around to reading them. Especially this one. I read Vonnegut’s Cat’s Cradle years ago and loved it but never picked up his (significantly) more famous Slaughterhouse-Five.

Slaughterhouse-Five is a book about war and one man going insane because of it. Billy slips in and out of sanity as he struggles with PTSD and how to balance the past and present. His loose grasp on time (and reality) reveals a man using what he can to cope with war, loss and life.

I don’t know what more to say–this book punches you in the guts and leaves you wheezing even after you turn the last page. Read it. And if you know a soldier, anyone dealing with trauma or think war is a skip through the park, read it twice.

