Foundation, by Isaac Asimov

A man learns how to predict the future using science and mathematics. He becomes a prophet as an intergalactic empire falls apart, and his predictions shape and influence events as time unfolds.

Foundations is a book you pick up and just keep reading. The characters rotate throughout the book, as does the specific setting, and there is no overwhelming action, yet despite this lack of any element to get “attached” to, I still found myself buried in this book, waiting to see how the past and the future would unravel. Asimov creates more than a world, he creates a galaxy of politics, trade and presentiment.

If you like hard scifi, I recommend this one. I don’t know if I’ll continue with this particular series, but I am definitely going to track down more of Asimov’s work.

