It’s time for What I Ate Wednesday, thanks Jen!

I talk about my vegan food regularly, but I don’t specifically talk about being vegan. One of the first comments I always get from non-vegans is, “How do you get enough protein?” Arguments about whether or not people get too much protein aside, I included protein count for each of my meals to show just how easy it is to get plenty of protein in a vegan diet–no special effort, soy or processed vegan “meat” products needed!

Breakfast

I ran out of applesauce, so my oatmeal and peanut butter was accompanied by “baked” cinnamon apples, inspired by this recipe from Kiss My Broccoli. Slice your apple, add cinnamon and a smidge of water, microwave for one minute. Sweet, soft and like a healthy apple pie filling.

Stats: 13g protein

Also: The Horror. Trader Joe’s has suddenly and abruptly stopped selling my favorite peanut butter. Is it a sign of the peanut butter shortage that’s on its way?

Lunch

Lentils Martinique on a bed of lettuce, some carrots on the side. Classily packaged in plastic for at-work consumption. I need to invest in some good reusable lunch-transportation. Any recommendations?

Stats: 13g protein

Dinner

Socca with lime-avocado “guacamole” and the absolute last stragglers from my tomato plants.

Stats: 15g protein

Also pictured: An afternoon cup of coffee and iron pills. I was feeling weak/low on energy for several weeks, so I added these (and spinach wherever possible) to my food for the past month. I don’t know if it’s psychological, but I have noticed a huge difference.

Dinner Round 2

The rice-protein smoothie! Made with the world’s worst almond milk–ugh, I do not recommend Pacific Naturals. I’ll stick with my smooth and delicious Blue Diamond or Silk. Had a couple of those apples hiding in the background as well.

Stats: 16g protein

Total protein count: 58g. Total recommended for a 2000-calorie diet: 50g. Total recommended for me based on my weight and (very) physical activity: 45.5 g. Even without the protein shake I’d be there. Bam. You protein-excuse-ers have no excuse!

 

Do you keep track of your protein/think getting “enough” is important? What’s your favorite protein source? Don’t worry, I’m a pretty easy-going vegan and won’t be offended if you answer “meat.”

