I was going to save this post for tomorrow and use the alliterative “Fitness Friday,” but I’m leaving to visit a friend for the weekend, so the English major in me will just cringe and struggle through a “Fitness Thursday.”

First of all,  a new recipe idea:

“Cookie dough” protein balls. I was inspired by Lisa‘s cookie dough balls and condensed/altered the recipe to sweet potato + protein powder + fall spices. My version was okay but will definitely be better with some future tweaks. It is just like eating cookie dough–but good for you!

Second of all, some ramblings and self-congratulations:

Yesterday I posted about getting protein as a vegan, and today I want to share why protein (and eating right in general) is important to me: If I’m not adventuring in the kitchen, buried in a book or, well, at work–I’m probably at the gym. I’ve avoided posting fitness-specific posts, because who doesn’t have a food-and-fitness blog these days? But fitness has become a bigger part of my life, so I can’t stay completely quiet.

Back to my main point: I’ve always been fairly active in terms of cardio.  I’ve run regularly (if not far or fast) for years, and I used to teach group aerobic classes. There is certainly nothing wrong with cardio, but at the beginning of this summer I decided to see what else I could do with my body. I started planning and considering my workouts beyond just showing up at the gym and whatever-ing around, and I added in lifting (and lowering) heavy things.

And I like my results. Yes I’m a little on the skinny side, and yes I have no boobs, and yes I’m standing in front of my kitchen range, but only one of those is something I have control over. Hint: It’s the photo shoot location. The other factors have been a part of my life for quite some time, and I am a-okay with working with what I’ve got–because what else am I going to work with?

I want to keep going with weightlifting. I want to learn more about it, and see what I can do with it. I am the strongest I’ve ever been, and, I’ll admit it, I feel a little bad-ass. That may be the result of the severe case of serious-face going on in my photo. Or it’s the result of out-curling a guy who has a good 50lbs on you. Or  the result of being told, “You look like a cartoon” by a stranger at the gym. Oh, wait, I’m still not sure if that last one was a compliment…

Do you like reading about other people’s workout plans? I’ll post more about what I do/what I plan to do if there’s interest.
What’s your favorite way to be active?

