I was going to make another informative vegan/healthy eating post, but planning out my blog posts has taken a backseat to the new work responsibilities. Meanwhile, if you want to learn more about eating iron, calcium, protein or cheaply as a vegan, check out those older WIAW posts.

Breakfast

Protein pancake with peanut butter and homemade applesauce.

Not a bowl of oatmeal, surprised, right? But I had oatmeal for dinner, as all the cold, damp and lazy folk do. While my taste buds see nothing wrong with eating the same thing every meal, my brain thought a (slight) change might be a good thing. I came up with amazing pancakes instead. Like, seriously, make them.

Single Lady Protein Pancake

  • 1/3 C oats
  • 1 scoop protein powder (about a big T, I’d say)
  • 1T healthy flour (I used spelt)
  • 1t baking powder
  • Sprinkle of salt
  • 1/3-1/2C non-dairy milk

Mix together, pour into pan.

Lunch

Roasted Brussels sprouts and broccoli with a big chunk of baked butternut squash. And some lettuce.

I love my veggies.

Snack

Almonds and dried figs.

This is new food schedule experiment day one. I don’t think this will come even close to powering me through my after work workout, but tonight I plan on making some power bars that might do the trick.

Dinner

Okay, nothing planned yet. That probably means Socca will be involved.

How do you fuel pre-workout? Or how about a favorite healthy snack?

