With so many end of the year recaps out there, I figured I might as well join in. 2011 was a big year for growing up. I don’t feel ready to be an adult. I feel like an 80-year-old woman sometimes (early bedtimes and crocheting habits tend to contribute to that…), but I’m not an adult yet, right? Or am I?

Working for the Weekend? Adult.

I began the year just getting into the swing of a real 9-5 (well, 7-4) job. That’s right–the sort of adult job that comes with benefits, paid time off and insurance. I even got advanced to a higher position in the company (albeit with no raise. Raises? Really adult.)

Accomplishing goals? Adult.

I made a goal of reading, on average, one book a week. According to my list of book reviews I’ve read 77. Goal accomplished, mastered and then ground into the dirt. Take that, goal.

Sharing with others? Adult.

I started this blog at the very beginning of the year. It was just going to be a place to keep track of the books I read. Then vegan food started creeping in. Then I started meeting this wonderful blogging community. And then it ended up as this current conglomeration of everything that makes me happy.

Taking care of yourself? Adult.

I got more excited/organized about fitness and eating right. I started seriously lifting, considering my nutritional intake and spending too much money on revealing gym clothes. Oh, wait, that last one…

Ignoring boys and beauty? Adult.

I all but stopped wearing makeup this year–I’ll only throw it on for the once-every-two-months night out. I also stopped making terrible dating decisions and getting tied up in boy-related drama. I really like being single and I can’t imagine my life being any better than it is right now (in terms of relationships)–so why did I manage to convince myself otherwise?

Thinking about the future? Adult.

I’m considering buying a house or condo. Buying. Like, down payments and mortgages and mowing my own lawn and stuff.

To adult or not to adult, that is the question.

But my childhood isn’t over yet! I love cartwheels on sunny days, I still eat cookies for dinner, I fall asleep immediately if you put me in the back seat of a car, and I see nothing wrong with wasting an entire weekend reading a trashy fantasy novel while wearing a random array of shiny clothing items and costume jewelry.

Do you consider yourself an “adult?”

