I have so much to say about my beautiful weekend of hermit-like nothingness, but while I collect those thoughts, put pants back on, and stop talking out loud to myself (a.k.a. readjust to living in the real world), I’ll leave you with an amazing recipe I came up with this weekend.

It is my and JamieAnne’s slow cooker link up day–but I didn’t have my crockpot with me over the weekend. However this simple soup would turn out beautifully in a slow cooker, if you want a less attention-requiring version than the stovetop one.

Turnip and Celery Soup

This soup has a unique and clean flavor. I whipped up some (less than stellar) cornbread to go with it, but I’d recommend a yeasted bread with a thick crust instead.

  • 2 large turnips, chopped
  • 5 or 6 stalks of celery, chopped
  • 1/2 C Vermouth or other dry white wine
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 15oz can veggie broth plus half a can of water
  • 2t dried thyme
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

All your ingredients get pureed, so feel free to hack away as unevenly as you please while chopping. Most veggie soup recipes call for your root veggies to be peeled, but really, that’s a waste of time and peel. Go ahead and throw it all in there.

On the stove: Saute the veggies in a little bit of olive oil, until your onion is translucent. Add your liquid and thyme and boil on low for fifteen to twenty minutes, or until turnip is soft. Let cool slightly, blend it all. Add it back to the pan, add salt and pepper, and heat it back up for serving.

In the crockpot: Put all the ingredients in your crockpot, let it cook until the turnip is soft. Follow the rest of the directions as above.

And as always, please join Slow It Down Monday with your own past or present slow cooker posts–or get ready to join us two weeks from now for the next!



