While I spent most of my house-sitting/hermit vacation knitting like crazy, I also made a few fun meals. Or fun I thought, until I started browsing through my photos. And saw a lot of brown. So of course everything was tasty, but I apologize for the beige hue to this What I Ate While on Vacation.

Mexi-Stir Fry

Cabbage, pinto beans and broccoli “stir fried” with cumin and chili powder.

Turnip Soup

As already seen in this post.

Breakfast of Champions

Homemade breakfast sausage patties with (un-homemade) cheesy toast. I tried to hide the cheesy toast, because good lord, that fake cheese looks like (is textured like and somewhat tasted like) a sheet of plastic. I am not a fan of fake cheese.

Now don’t get me wrong, I am grateful that I had amazing and understanding “hosts” who tried to leave me some food they thought I’d enjoy, but I can do without processed/premade vegan items. As exhibited in the next meal…

Sausage with Caramelized Onion and Potato Pancake

The sausage was another blah vegan product. It was dry and flavorless–reminiscent of finely ground sawdust loosely packed together. My potato pancake was slightly disappointing too, so I guess I can’t blame it all on the frozen food industry. I should have just made a plate of caramelized onions. Mmm, caramelized onions. With mustard.

Favorite/least favorite premade veggie items?

