If you haven’t been following along, I’m in Costa Rica for the week! While I’m living it up in San Jose, Sophie from Love Live & Learn is here to share her big life decision to continue loving life while living with Fibromyalgia. This beautiful girl has a great and positive blog about all of my favorite things–food, books and living life. Read her powerful story about moving forward despite limitations, and then check out her blog to read more!

Guest Post from Sophie: Deciding to Live the Life You Want

Before I start, hello to all of you lovely people who read Allie’s blog!

My name is Sophie and I blog over at Love Live & Learn.

I am 18 years old and I suffer from Fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue and possibly arthritis.

What a way to start huh? But let me explain before you all start wondering why on earth I am announcing this like that!

It might sound bad, and to be honest it can be pretty awful at times, but that is not what I want to talk about. I want to tell you about my big life-changing decision. This is where the chronic pain and fatigue come in. My life-changing decision? To not let my condition define me and to live the life I want, not despite of the pain, but because the pain.

That may seem like a strange statement but what I really mean is that I have decided that I am not going to let it get in the way of my life.

I am not my condition.

This year I started university, I moved away from home, I became independent. It was really quite a challenge for me as I am used to living in quite a small town with practically no incline, let alone any hills. To put it mildly, it had a pretty detrimental effect on my condition.

There were days were I could barely stand, let alone walk to lectures. In my first term I collapsed twice from the pain. There were days were I had neither the energy nor the strength to pull myself out of bed. For the first time in the five years of suffering that I had really thought of myself as disabled.

It was a lot to come to terms with.

I still struggle to except that label, I still find it hard to get my head around the fact that I was going to be like this for the rest of my life.

{photo by my talented cousin}

But when I went back home for Christmas the black clouds lifted. I remembered why I wanted to go to university: to get a good degree and make a future for myself. I realized the most important thing I wanted in life: to be happy.

And suddenly, well things didn’t feel so impossible. The pain and the fatigue didn’t have to mean that I had no future.

So I made a decision; possibly the most important decision I’d ever make.

I wasn’t going to give in or give up. I wasn’t going to let the pain, the fatigue, this exhausting condition, get in the way of my life or my happiness.

So there you have it, a (brief) account of my story so far. I really hope you enjoyed reading it 🙂

Have you ever had to overcome any physical or mental conditions?
What do you want most from life?
Have you had to make any emotionally life-changing decisions?

Don’t hesitate to come and say hi! I love meeting new readers 🙂

Thank you for your story of strength and positivity! You have such a great attitude about life, and I hope everyone can learn from your big decision: Life is worth living and enjoying!

