Nine Princes in Amber by Roger Zelazny

I just don’t like the early ’70s era of fantasy. I read Elric of Melnibone last year and had similar complaints. The narration involves a cheesy self-centered noir-style “I” voice combined with ludicrous usage of “thee” and “thou.” The story wasn’t particularly engaging–I have no idea why the main character wanted to take over the throne (or why I would want him to/care about him doing so), but he sure spent a long time trying to do it. Parts that could have been faster paced weren’t, and parts that could have been drawn out were over after half a page. I didn’t get to know any of the secondary characters–other than name, they all seemed emptily and exactly alike. There was simply no motive, personality or drive behind this book (or any good writing), and I found myself reading it just so I could get to the end and be done with it.

