Fact: I’m not a huge “raw food”-ist. Most recipes (outside of a salad) call for bizarre ingredients, expensive/specialty equipment and complicated assembly. However there is a side of raw that I love–fresh and simple. So when Tandy posted a raw food challenge, I knew I had to participate. I also knew I had a bag of lemons I had to use up fast. Why did I think I would be able to eat ten lemons over the course of three days? But they were such a great deal

And so I give you, with minimal assembly and even minimal-er ingredients, Raw Lemon Bars. Four ingredients will give you maximum summer deliciousness.

Raw Lemon Bars

  • 1c Nuts, any kind
  • 8-ish Medjool dates
  • 2 Lemons
  • 2 Ripe bananas

Put your nuts and dates in a bowl of hot water, let soak for five minutes or so. Run these two ingredients through your food processor/machine-with-a-blade of your choice. Line a small square pan with wax paper (or use muffin tins, two loaf pans, etc.), press in your “crust” so that you have an even layer. Rinse your blender, then throw in your bananas and the juice of two lemons (if you like lots of lemon tang, zest those babies into there too). Blend. Pour this layer on top of your date/nut layer. Put it all in the freezer, pull it out a few hours later for a sweet-but-not-guilty frozen lemon summer treat.


 

Have a favorite raw recipe?

