Somehow, even though I have a small garden and I peer at it every day, I went out last night find one GIANT forearm-sized zucchini. How did that sneaky bugger hide from me for so long? While zucchini bread crossed (and recrossed) my mind, I decided something slightly less dessert might be a more responsible dinner choice (especially since I plan on having dessert for dinner tonight…)

Zucchini “Fritters”

Ingredients

  • Lots of zucchini, grated and squeezed/pressed to remove some moisture (about 2 cups after squeezing)
  • 1/2c Chickpea flour (or probably any healthy flour)
  • 3T ground flax or chia seed (or a combination of the two)
  • 1t baking powder
  • Spices, salt and pepper to taste (I used none and then smothered these babies in mustard, but we all know I’ll take any excuse for condiment-use. Hey, that rhymed!)

Preheat over to 425. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (or grease it, I suppose). Make really flat “pancakes” from the zucchini mixture–or alternately, form into balls for a “meatball-type” finished product rather than a “fritter-type” item). Bake for 15 minutes, flip, bake for 15 more. Enjoy!

Have any creative uses for zucchini? I have a feeling I’m about to have a lot of zucchini to use…

