Would I be a proper food blogger if I went to NYC and didn’t make an entire post dedicated to just the eats? The answer is no.

Breakfasts

Breakfast each morning was a fresh local bagel and Dunkin’ Donuts coffee. While Queens bagels aren’t quite as good as Manhattan bagels (and while getting a surprise rye bagel is not quite as good as the expected whole grain), they are still miles better than anything I can get around here. And while you Northerners may take your Dunkin’ Donuts for granted, that’s another thing you can’t commonly find in the South. Still having woah-that-was-a-weekend-of-too-much-caffeine headaches. Totally worth it.

Lunches

Avocado and caramelized onion filled whole wheat crepes? Enjoyed with a fruit smoothie? Why, yes please.

Sriracha-topped veggie dumplings from Prosperity Dumpling in Chinatown? For a whopping $2.50? Even more yes please.

Dinner

I have no pictures of my dinners. This says something about my hunger levels after long days of walking around the city. The best dinner was sweet potato and sauerkraut and mushroom pierogies from Veselka, a veggie-friendly polish restaurant in East Village (and makers of some of the best applesauce I’ve ever had).

Snacks

Vegan cherry scone from the organic farmer’s market in Union Square Park. This scone was almost perfect. It had great flavor, was perfectly not sweet like a scone is actually supposed to be, but could have used a little more in terms of real scone texture.

Dark chocolate frozen treat covered in melted peanut butter from the Soft Serve Fruit Co. Again, perfectly not sweet. And if anyone can say anything bad about melted pb as a dessert topping, well, I’m not sure we can be friends.

And while everything was delicious, I’ve gotta admit I was also pretty excited to come home to a garden full of zucchinis, cucumbers and turnips and to take a break from the restaurant scene (for a day or so at least–until the local Thai curry place starts calling my name).

