Oh my gosh, my weekend! So much cooking, napping, working out and getting into the swing of my brand new diet and workout plan to help me reach my goal. (Details on these changes tomorrow.) And even with some new rules in place, I managed to make something rich, decadent, amazing and on track for Heather’s Meatless Mondays from A to Z.

This is week #2, so the challenge was to use beets. I love beets, but “Here are some roasted beets!” isn’t exactly worth blogging about, nor is it a challenge. You know what is a challenge? Beets as dessert. My only previous beets-as-dessert foray involved beet brownies last summer. I tried a bite, not even sure I managed to swallow that, and threw out the batch.

So I knew a beet dessert would be a challenge. I had the great idea to try Beet Halwa. I love Halwa. Why not with beets? Well, because it turns out even the cheapest cardamom is $12. Yeah, yeah–It lasts forever. That’s still half my grocery budget for the week. No thanks. So instead?

Spiced Beet Pudding and Vanilla Whipped Cream

Oh. My. Gosh. I talked out loud to myself after trying the first bite–it was that good. I mean, good. And so rich I couldn’t even finish it. And yet…healthy?

Vanilla Whipped Cream

  • 1/4 block Lite silken tofu
  • 10 Cashews, soaked for a few hours
  • 1t Vanilla
  • 3/4 packet stevia
  • 2-4T Almond milk

Blend starting with the least amount of milk. Refrigerate until ready to use.

Spiced Beet Pudding

  • 1-1.5 C Freshly cooked beets
  • Beet cooking liquid (or almond milk)
  • Freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1/2 packet stevia

Process in your blender using as little extra liquid as possible. I made this in a Magic Bullet, so trust me, any blender can handle it. Best if served slightly warm with chilled whipped cream on top.

I know this sounds odd–But if I make something that isn’t good, isn’t comparable to the non-vegan version, or is just plain crud–you know I’ll tell you. So when I tell you this is rich, decadent, amazing beyond belief? Yeah, it is. Especially that whipped cream. It tastes just like whipped cream. Except maybe better.

Do you trust vegetable-based desserts? Have one you’d recommend?

