It’s time for some early Monday blog-shocking honesty:

  • SunWarrior protein is okay-ish.
  • Kombucha is vile.
  • Bean-based desserts are the bane of my existence.
  • Pumpkin is fine I suppose, but I’d rather use squash or sweet potato.
  • Barbara’s Puffins taste and are textured like cardboard.

…Have I revealed enough to be kicked out of the healthy-foodie-blog-world yet? No? Well how about this seasonal one for you:

  • Fresh figs aren’t that great. Hand me a Pink Lady apple instead, please.

But I love Heather’s Meatless Mondays: A to Z and had to participate. So I found a solution. You know what is great?

This stuff. So, maybe you could make your own out of fresh or dried figs or something, but with only four ingredients in this jar, it’s basically what you’d make anyway. But easier. And it tastes like Fig Newton filling. Have you ever wished you could just stick a spoon into a jar of Fig Newton filling? Trader Joe’s says you can. But “Put a spoon in this jar” isn’t exactly a recipe, is it? So I took it a step further. And made it a breakfast.

High-Protein (Mostly Home-Made) (Good for You) Breakfast-Newtons

Serves: 1. Cook time: Maybe 10 minutes.

I started with a spin-off of my basic oatmeal raisin cookie brancake recipe:

  • 1/3c oat bran
  • 1 scoop protein powder (I used unsweetened Garden of Life Raw protein)
  • 1t baking powder
  • 1/3c almond milk
  • 1/2t vanilla extract
  • 1/4t lemon extract

If you want your crust sweet, go ahead and add some sweetener, but I love the contrast of almost-savory with the sweet fig filling. This batter will be really thick, but go ahead and add a little more liquid if you need to, depending on your protein powder.Β Heat a frying pan and then scoop your batter in and flatten it out, making it roughly square-ish in shape. Cook, flip, cook. This dough is wonderfully crumbly, so you may want to cut your brancake into the desired final shapes before you try to flip (I did four smaller squares for two sandwiches).

Once cooked, spread fig butter (or any fruit butter/jam/spread you want) between layers of delicious Newton-like crumbly cookie. Pick it up, or live on the fancy side and use a fork.

Any blog world staples you disagree with?

