In a WIAW month dedicated to pink and treats, I’m being my bad self and breaking the rules as always–by eating every color but pink.Β ROYGBIV, baby!

Red

Roasted Bell Pepper

What, you don’t snack on roasted peppers? Found fresh bell peppers on sale, so I stocked up.

Orange

Acorn squash with Goodies

My dinner was sweet acorn squash with Greek yogurt and hazelnuts topped with lots of cinnamon and peanut flour–and just maybe some maple syrup…

Yellow

Turmeric-Spiced “Chicken”

First lunch involved homemade fake meat strips with spinach and roasted asparagus. Spinach makes my teeth feels weird. And asparagus, well, you know. It was a meal for all the senses…

Green

A Green “Smoothea”

Oh, does that just look like a boring old green smoothie to you? Wrong! It’s a smoothea. What’s that, you ask? A smoothie made with peas. Yup. I couldn’t resist. Sound gross? Well, my first attempt was. But this version? Full of creamy almond-cinnamon-nutmeg goodness that perfectly capped a tough workout.

Blue

Blue-Raspberry…err…”Flavor”

This stuff is awful, seriously. But I have a major problem with wasting food, seriously. Cringing my way through the container…

Indigo

According to Wikipedia, “Although traditionally considered one of seven colors of the rainbow…modern color scientists do not usually recognize indigo as a separate division and generally classify wavelengths shorter than about 450Β nm as violet.” First they take Pluto, now they take indigo. Darn you, science!

…But it does mean I’m perfectly justified in skipping this color and posting my brown foods instead, right?

Second breakfast of protein and oats, second lunch of tempeh and a roasted balsamic portobello cap, and (my standard) dessert of almond-chocolate protein fluff.

Violet

PB&JEggs

You know there was no other option for this one! Nothing like a plate of mixed berries (blueberries, blackberries and raspberries), peanut butter and egg whites to fuel my early morning workouts and start the day off right (and purple-ish).

And yes,if you’re counting, that’s 7 meals and a “snack.” And you bet I actually ate it all yesterday. Gotta fuel those workouts!

What’s your favorite color food to eat?

