Although I’ve been a Meatless Monday: A to Z challenge slacker as of late, I came back for this week’s ingredient: Jalapenos.

And thank goodness y’all already know I make weird food, because this one is pushing it. Now, I can ramble on about how this is actually really really good, but you’re either going to look at this recipe and think: “Count me in!” or “There’s no way I’d ever try that.” So I’ll just put it out there and let you decide. (But seriously, it’s good. Like, sweet, spicy and creamy good.)

JalaPEAno Smoothie

Ingredients

  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 C frozen peas
  • 1/2 jalapeno, seeded and diced
  • 2/3 C Almond milk
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (I recommend a strongly flavored vanilla powder like Vega Performance or Plant Fusion. If you’re using Sun Warrior, add extra vanilla and a little extra sweetener.)
  • 1/2t vanilla
  • 1t cinnamon

Directions

If you don’t have a fancy-shmancy blender (I’m rolling with a 5-year-old magic bullet), make sure you thaw your peas a little first. Stuff all your ingredients in a blender (add some spinach if you feel like it) and blend well. Sip, and enjoy this amazingly refreshing smoothie. Just the right hint of sweet, just the right hint of spice.

If you want to be brave but not that brave, just try a vanilla-pea smoothie and omit the jalapeno! If you want to be brave but more brave, throw in the whole jalapeno. And don’t blame me for the results…

 

Would you ever drink a jalaPEAno smoothie? What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever put in your smoothie?

