Great food, amazing family and friends, relaxation. Thanksgiving may have been four days ago, but I’m still riding off the emotional high (and may or may not still be full). Who wouldn’t have fond memories of hanging out with these fabulous parents? Someday my dad will smile for a picture. Someday.

And who wouldn’t want to relive this spread? Turkey, gravy, white potatoes and green bean casserole for the general crowd. Wine, Brussels sprouts, sweet potatoes, stuffing and cranberry sauce for me everyone.

While it was all delicious, fresh and hot for the holiday, I have to admit that my favorite part about Thanksgiving is the…

Leftovers

Any cornbread stuffing not sneaked straight from the fridge (and trust me, that’s how most of the stuffing disappeared…) went into breakfast bowls filled with Greek yogurt and homemade cranberry sauce.

Leftover shredded Brussels with caramelized onions and roasted pecans reappeared at lunch with piles of fluffy egg white.

And there was no other choice for leftover mashed sweet potatoes than to make pancakes-for-dinner.

Okay, this wasn’t a leftover techinically, but I have leftover good memories of starting my days with one of my mom’s amazing homemade lattes.

Can it be Thanksgiving again next week? No? Okay, I guess I’ll hold out until Christmas.

Leftovers: Love ’em or hate ’em? How’d you use yours up?

 

