Last week I mentioned being a morning person–and, thanks to the miracle of the Internet community, I found that there are at least three other people who join me in loving the mornings. So this week? I’m doing aΒ morning person series explaining the whys of my morning love more fully! Part One? Getting ready!

Food Prep

When you’re training for a figure competition (or just living a busy life and trying to eat well or cheap), you carry a lot of food with you. And what makes that easier than a little food prep? Food prep gets a bad a name as taking time, effort, etc. But really? It’s so quick and easy! On Sundays I do my oven/stove work (maybe an hour and a half–and that’s just waiting-on-squash-to-cook time, not active cooking time. I can get all sorts of things done during that cooking time. Like cleaning the kitchen. Or taking a nap.) With that step out of the way, each morning all I have to do is a little assembly. This weekend I baked up a spaghetti squash and some sweet potatoes, made some Pepper-Curry “Chicken” and cooked some Indian sweet-and-sour cabbage.

photo

Orange carbs for the week! I’m still not a fan of pumpkin, but as I mentioned last week, if I hide it with a lot of Greek yogurt, maple syrup, and cinnamon, it’s okay. Ish.

Assembly

In the mornings? I get to do the fun part–dump stuff in containers. Breakfast #2? Berries, oatmeal and protein powder. Dumped in a container. Lunch #1? Spaghetti squash, sausage crumbles and tomato sauce. Dumped in a container. Assembly time? Less than five minutes.

photo2

You could make your own sausage crumbles easily with some TVP, spices and a little nooch and have them ready to go for the morning, but this stuff was on sale. On sale. I can’t not buy sale things. It’s a continuing problem. Some girls buy shoes, others buy cheap produce and meat-like products.

And Lunch #2?

Now we’re getting to the good part–and the Meatless Monday A to Z challenge part! Heather challenged us to use pistachios this week–and since I love bright green things, I was ready. I whipped up some Indian Sweet and Sour Cabbage, sprinkled it with salty, creamy pistachios and rounded it out with a protein component–homemade Pepper-Curry “Chicken.” Who doesn’t want a bright purple, green and yellow meal?

8240505145_d9ff4b1baf_z

Indian Sweet and Sour Cabbage

  • About half a small head of red cabbage, sliced
  • Half an onion, sliced
  • 1/4c apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4c water
  • 1-2 T brown sugar
  • 1t ground coriander
  • 1/2t ground cardamom
  • Fresh ginger, grated, to taste
  • Crushed pistachios

Heat a little oil in your pan, and add your onions. Saute until onions are soft and starting to turn translucent. Add the cabbage. Stir together the vinegar, water, sugar and spices and pour over the cabbage. Cook until desired tenderness. Put on a plate, sprinkle pistachios on top (essential for the full flavor experience!). Add your protein of choice (I recommend something flavored with curry and spice), and you have a complete meal!

8241574838_c89720e2c4_z

Dump this gorgeous complete meal in a container, and you have a slightly-less-gorgeous complete meal, to go!

Do you prep meals/take food to go? What are some of your favorite foods to stick in your lunchbox?

