Last week I listed five reasons I love mornings, and this week, I’m elaborating on those. Yesterday focused on having time to get ready and put together tasty food for the day. Today is part two, featuring the calmest and quietest part of of my morning routine: Books and coffee.

Books and Coffee

If you’re my friend on Goodreads, some of these won’t be a surprise. If you aren’t my friend on Goodreads, you should be.

photo

Book: Afterlands by Steve Heighton

This book started slow and barely picked up speed. Heighton has a great cast of characters to work with, but does nothing with them. Who thought survivalism and near-cannibalism could be so dull?

Coffee: Gingerbread Coffee by Trader Joe’s. Extra-warming due to a kick of ginger. Perfect for cold mornings spent reading an even colder book about Arctic survival.

4

Book: The History of Love by Nicole Krauss.

Gorgeous, rambling and rich. A Gabriel Garcia Marquez-like almost-mystic world of interconnecting lives. This book is funny, quirky and heartbreaking all at once. This book IS about love, but it’s not about romance–It is about the shapes love takes, the impact it has on lives (past, present and future), and what it leaves in its wake.

Coffee: Americano by my mom, mistress of coffee.

2

Book: The Devil All the Time by Donald Ray Pollock.

Shock fiction like Chuck Palahniuk, except good. (Okay, don’t punch me–But I’m not a Palahniuk fan.) Pollock does more than just offer shock. He creates desperation you can feel–both through characters and setting–and thoughts and actions you want to discredit but can believe are real. I don’t recommend this book for the faint of stomach, but, if you like graphic that teeters on the edge of over-the-top, give this a try.

Coffee: Peppermint Hot Chocolate by me. Hot almond milk, peppermint extract and a hint of sweet. I don’t even care that it’s not coffee.

5

Book: Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine brooks

Well, Brooks clearly gave up 3/4 of the way through this one. What a cop-out of an ending.

Coffee: Creamy Turmeric Tea by Mark’s Daily Apple. Not coffee. But delicious.

1

Book: Perelandra by C.S. Lewis.

I love Narnia (who doesn’t??), but this one isn’t pulling me in. It’s starting off like bad Jules Verne. And Verne isn’t that great to begin with (unarguably classic and genre-defining, but not great). I won’t give up quite yet, but expectations are low…

Coffee: Wintry Spice by Trader Joe’s. As if I haven’t raved enough about this already–Amazing. New favorite coffee.

Do you like reading about books? Or reading books themselves?

What’s your favorite coffee? I’m always up for new caffeinated adventures!

