Since I’m mostly over the crud from this weekend, I’m getting really, really excited about Christmas. I finished the hard work (okay, fun work) of shopping for others, so now it’s time to relax and bask in the warm fuzzies of the season! And to enjoy the time of year that is a peppermint lover’s dream come true.

Peppermint!

Peppermint brownies are a great treat to bring to the office or share with family. Or eat all by yourself. For breakfast. I have no arguments with gluten, but I had a (let’s not admit how old) bag of gluten-free oat flour that needed to be used–plus gluten-free brownies tend to come out extra dense, moist and fudge-y compared to their gluten-kin. I also thought making these would be a nice gesture toward my one gluten-free coworker. But then it turns out he doesn’t like chocolate (doesn’t like chocolate??). Whoops. I tried. The rest of the office gave these rave reviews (and they disappeared pretty darn fast–so it wasn’t just talk).

And hey, I’m actually obeying the WIAW theme of healthy holiday recipes! Okay, sort of obeying the theme. These aren’t unhealthy, but they aren’t exactly a bowl of oatmeal either. Although they are oat flour based. Totally counted as breakfast.

Gluten-Free Peppermint Brownies

Peppermint Brownies

Ingredients:

  • 2c gluten-free oat flour
  • 2.5T cocoa powder
  • 1t baking powder
  • 1c sugar
  • 1/3c canola oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2t peppermint extract
  • About 4 candy canes, crushed

Whisk together the first three dry ingredients. In a separate bowl, whisk your sugar and liquid ingredients until creamy. Mix the two together, pour into a greased 11×7 or so pan. Bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes. Sprinkle with crushed candy canes while hot. Let cool, slice and serve. Or, for the impatient, don’t let cool, scrape out gooey hot forkfuls of deliciousness, put in mouth.

And because I’m so inspiring that I actually inspire myself (modesty, here), I made a giant bowl of peppermint-brownie-oatmeal for dessert. Yes, I ate actual brownies for breakfast, and then brownie-inspired oatmeal for dessert. I live by my own rules!

Peppermint Oatmeal

Peppermint: Yay or nay?Ā What’s your favorite seasonal flavor?

 

