So, I somehow managed to miss two whole weeks of Laura’s fabulous link-up–but it most certainly wasn’t because I was eating normal food. There’s nothing like an odd mix+match, and my life has been full of ’em.

Strange-but-Good: Combo Edition


Candy canes + vodka. Okay, not weird: Spectacular. Especially when stirred into hot cocoa.

5

My hair + first thing in the morning. I mean, seriously, where’s gravity at 4am? Nowhere near my head, apparently.

photo

Cast Iron + cornmeal. Okay, not at all strange. Until you get carried away trying to “healthify” your recipe and end up with a lumpy brown…lump. Fear not, I will venture into cornbread-making again soon. This time? With white flour, butter, and delicious classic cornbread goodness. Lesson learned.

4

Breakfast + Vegetables. Don’t get me wrong, I love sweet breakfast foods (Maple syrup on pancakes! Maple syrup on scones! Maple syrup on oatmeal! Maple syrup on an empty plate!)…but I love them for dinner. In the mornings? I’ve been waking up to cravings for big piles of savory green things and backyard-farm-fresh eggs.

1

Hemp + Chickpea Flatbread. My new favorite flatbread! Earthy, crispy, and full of protein!

photo

Hemp-pea Flatbread

  • 2T hemp protein powder
  • 1/4c chickpea flour
  • 1/4c water

Combine that extensive ingredient list. Pour onto hot nonstick pan. Wait, flip, wait, eat. Particularly good with curries/Indian flavors!

Favorite food combos? What should I cook in my cast iron skillet next? It was a Christmas gift, and I can’t wait to put it to (good) use!

