My love of breakfast is no secret, so yesterday I figured, why not have breakfast for dinner? And lunch? And breakfast?

Breakfast: Grapefruit for early morning snack.

Grapefruit breakfast

Because: My mom was in town to help with some major work around the house (more on that later this week), and she was awesome enough to bring some citrus mailed from Arizonian friends. Fresh from their trees!

Breakfast: Skillet spinach-and-eggs for breakfast.

4

Because: This week’s MMAZ ingredient is spinach! And because I wanted to try using my new cast iron skillet again. And because I figured I ought to make my mom a gorgeous and homemade breakfast, if I was then going to put her to work.

Skillet Spinach-and-Eggs

  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1-2t fennel, crushed
  • 3-4c fresh baby spinach
  • 4 whole eggs
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Set oven to “broil.” Heat 1T oil in your cast iron pan on your stove top. Add garlic and fennel, cook until garlic starts to soften. Add spinach, cook until wilted. Take your pan off the heat. Crack four eggs on top of spinach, let sit for a minute. Pop the whole shebang into the oven, watch that sucker like a hawk. Pull it out when the whites have cooked through and the yolk is to your desired runny-or-not-runny-ness (3-4 minutes).

Breakfast: Egg-and-tomato biscuit for lunch.

Egg biscuit

Because: Biscuits. And because at lunchtime my mom and I were exhausted, covered in paint, and in no mood to cook or to clean ourselves up enough to go out. Solution? Local BBQ drive-through.

Breakfast: Veggie-sausage patties and Bisquick pancakes for dinner. Topped with tons of maple syrup. And served with half a bottle a glass of champagne.

Pancakes

Because: My friend and I made plans to have brunch. But then home-redecorating-chaos ensued, and ran half a day long. Yeah. Nothing wrong with brunch for dinner.

When is your favorite time of day for breakfast?

