I celebrated Valentine’s Day yesterday by starting the day with my favorite–cookies! (I also ended the day with my favorite–cookies!–too. But those were cookies from Whole Foods. Because treats are even better when there’s no effort or clean-up involved.) Since I knew I was going to be have cookies twice in one day (and that I’d be eating the whole batch–C’mon, how can anyone only eat one or two fresh cookies??), I went for a slightly healthier option for my cookies-for-breakfast.

Oats n’ Dots Cookies

These feature some fake-sugar-stuff I got from Xylitol Canada. Yes, a company was finally awesome enough to send me something for free–and then I promptly procrastinated posting about it for over two months. And although this was a gift with a *wink wink nudge nudge*, you know I’m going to be honest. For instance, they also sent some gum, which was like chewing on fake-sugar-aftertaste-flavored car tire. Pass on that. I think I’m also supposed to tout the health benefits of this product, but frankly? I’m typically more comfortable using real sugar over any fake sugar, sugar- substitute or “natural” alternative, claims of safe-and-good-for-you aside.

photo

That said (and my product-reviewing career ended just as it began), if you want a good sugar substitute for those days when you know are going to eatΒ at least one batch of cookies before 7am, I do recommend Xyla. It’s large-granulated, rather than the weird powdery dust you get with most fake baking sugars, so you still get texture and a sweet hint of crunch. I absolutely could not detect a fake sugar taste before or after, and Xyla is incredibly sweet, so you don’t have to use as much/it lasts longer (ahh, cheap-me rejoices).

photo

Ingredients

The base for these cookies is simple, soft and chewy, and rich chocolate-covered treats balance it perfectly.

  • 2/3c oats, ground into flour
  • 1T flax seed, ground into flour
  • 1/2t baking powder
  • 1/4c Xyla/real sugar/fake sugar/sweetener of choice
  • 2T Coconut oil
  • 2T almond milk
  • 1/2t vanilla
  • Chocolate-covered-fruit-or-nut-of-choice

Preheat your oven to 375. Mix first three ingredients (I like to just throw them all into my Magic Bullet and whir ’em together, saves having to grind/blend the oats and flax separately and omits one level of stirring). Mix sugar and wet ingredients, stir well, add in dry, stir again. Scoop onto parchment paper (this make about 5 medium-sized cookies), stud with a chocolate treat (I used all five of the dark-chocolate-covered pomegranate seeds I had left from Wednesday…Don’t leave open bags of candy near me.), bake for 12 minutes. Enjoy. Best hot and fresh (of course).

3

