In January, I set a goal to do more.

In February, I finished more.

In March, I (tried) to be more kind to myself.

And in April, I was more like a chicken.

Now that it’s May, it’s time to reflect and reset!

May Goal: Be More Mindful.

I’m going to take a slightly more serious spin-off of the concepts behind my chicken goal, since I found that one to be a rousing success. This may?

Part One: Be aware and in the moment.

Taste what I’m eating, see what I’m looking at, feel what I’m touching–Just remember to take moments to be in the moment.

We pray for our life of tomorrow,
Ephemeral life though it be;
This is the habit of our mind
That passed away yesterday.
–    Ikkyu

Part Two: Meditate.

Take a moment to not be in the real world and be in my mind instead.

When the mind is at peace,
the world too is at peace.
Nothing real, nothing absent.
Not holding on to reality,
not getting stuck in the void,
you are neither holy or wise, just
an ordinary fellow who has completed his work.

–   Layman Pang-yun (740-808)

Part Three: Ignore all of the above and stop worrying about what I should be doing.

I spend so much time thinking about what I should be doing, so much time beating myself up about what I should have done and so much time obsessing about what my future should contain.

I should go to the gym, I shouldn’t sit and relax when there are things to be done, I should be worried about my leaky roof, I shouldn’t put off ’til tomorrow what I don’t want to do today, I should be eating this, I shouldn’t worry about having eaten that…But who am I to dictate what should be done? I’m going to start paying attention to when those shoulds take over, and I’m going to work on letting them slide off my shoulders.

When mortals are alive, they worry about death.
When they’re full, they worry about hunger.
Theirs is the Great Uncertainty.
–   Bodhidharma

Are you mindful? Mindless? Happily doing your thing without worrying about either?

There ain’t no answer.
There ain’t going to be an answer.
There never has been an answer.
That’s the answer.
–   Gertrude Stein

