Since getting back to eating meat, I’ve discovered that I just don’t like beef. Ground, regular, burger-ed, you name it. I find it (literally) difficult to swallow, unpleasant in texture and color and unappealing in taste. Regardless of whether I should be a good American and love my cow-meat, I don’t. But then I found organic grass-fed strip steak on Manager’s Special. So I bought it anyway.

Strange but Good

So how was I going to choke down my fabulously-priced beef find? Go for #strangebutgood. Laura has a way with spices that I envy, and I took my cue from her and got adventurous. I pulled out a traditionally “dessert” seasoning combo and applied it to meat. The result? Well, it’s still beef, but, man, good flavor!

Lemon-Cardamom Strip Steak

  • 1 lemon’s worth of juice
  • 1 lemon’s worth of zest
  • 1/4t ground cardamom
  • 2 strip steaks

Yup, three (four?) ingredients. Put them all in a crockpot, on high, for 2-3 hours. While the hot and fresh version was good, I much preferred the cold leftovers, cubed and added to a salad. There was more time for the lemon-cardamom flavor to come through, plus cubed made it (slightly) easier to swallow.

1

Beef: It’s what (I probably won’t make again) for dinner.

But if I do? I’ll rock the lemon cardamom.

Ever gone dessert flavor for dinner?

