So here’s something new I’m going to try on the blog–a featured food each week! As a cheap-ass thrifty single gal, I tend to buy what’s on sale and stock up on deals. This is a great way to stay on budget, but it often means I have to eat a lot of one ingredient over the course of the week. Foodies and non-foodies alike often raise an eyebrow (“You ate cabbage how many meals in a row this week??”), but focusing on one ingredient doesn’t mean your food has to be boring, unbalanced or uninteresting. And today I’m going to beet, err, beat, that point home!

6

This bundle was something of a splurge–$3.50 at the farmer’s market–but they looked so fresh and delicious, and I knew I could more than get my money’s worth. How do you stretch out (and not get bored by) a bundle of beets? Let me show you my stingy frugal ways!

Featured Food: Beets

A beautiful plate of pan-seared lemon-thyme tilapia with roasted beets, garlic chevre and greens…

1

A “Red Velvet” Greek yogurt plate….

2

A quick to-go salad with roasted beets, chicken and garlic-pepper sugar peas…

2

Beet stem “noodles” (Boodles?) and tilapia with this lick-the-blender-good pad thai sauce

(And if using beet stems as noodles doesn’t count as #strangebutgood, well, then I just don’t know what does.)

3

(Unpictured) Remaining “boodles” chopped up and scrambled with egg for breakfast…

And beet beat a drum-roll for the GRAND finale…

A grilled cheese sandwich stuffed with fresh local goat cheese, roasted beet slices, and sauteed beet greens…Seriously.

4

So there you have it: One bundle of beets, 6 unique and gourmet-ish meals, no repeats! For a grand total of about $12.74, “pricey” local beets, chicken and goat cheese included. And if you’d be bored with this week’s selection of eats, well, there’s just no pleasing some folk I suppose.

Favorite way to use beets?

Should I make a Featured Food a weekly thing?

