The breakfast saga of my life continued with pancakes, beer and a horror movie last night. Yes, pancakes and beer. If I tell you the pancakes were dyed blue will that combination (or my  life) make more sense? No? I didn’t think so. What does make sense is making vegan breakfast patties. Man, am I good at transitions these days. These are absolutely not gluten-free friendly, so my apologies to the gluten-free folk out there.

I posted these patties in yesterday’s breakfast bonanza post, and, since there was some interest in a recipe and since I’ve been having them for (actual) breakfast most mornings, I thought I’d share. These are perfect for the savory-breakfast-lovers out there, and go great with a side of veggies and a good dose of condiment (might I recommend ketchup?).

Vegan Breakfast Patties

This recipe makes slightly more than one serving. However, this recipe doubles (triples and quadruples) wonderfully, so feel free to make a giant batch and freeze your extra patties for quick use in the future. It’s also a very forgiving recipe, so feel free to be a little sloppy with measurements/ingredients.

  • 1/2c beans (I use pinto)
  • 1/4c water
  • 1t liquid smoke

Mash your beans and liquid ingredients together, then add in the following:

  • 1/2c vital wheat gluten
  • 1/2c oat bran (or wheat germ, oatmeal or other “textured” dry good)
  • 1t garlic powder
  • 1t fennel
  • 1/2t cayenne (if you like a hint of heat, add in some red pepper flakes too)
  • 1/2t black pepper

Knead your dough together. It will be awesomely weird and vital-wheat-gluten-y. Form it into small-ish (smaller than burger) patty shapes and either freeze them at this point, or get a lightly oiled pan hot and ready. Cook until brown and slightly crispy on the outside.