I hate salads. No, really, I do. This may be the result of years of vegetarianism where the only “choice” at most places is, well, a salad. Or maybe salads just scream “pile of boring health” to me. But I branched out (or back in?) this weekend. It was gorgeous and 70+ degrees, and I was willing to take the salad plunge, as long as I got fast meals that didn’t require a stove.

At least this means my WIAW is definitely green this time around.

Curry Chicken Salad

1

I had a leftover cooked chicken breast. I shredded it and tossed in some curry powder, a dollop of Greek yogurt, diced celery and apple. Ate on spinach with a sprinkle of almonds. Cool, spicy, crunchy.

Lemony Salmon Salad

3

I had a can of salmon. I added lemon juice, a dollop of Greek yogurt and a hefty dose of paprika. Ate on spinach. Could have used a sprinkle of almonds.

Cranny Goat Salad

4

I had fresh, local goat cheese from the farmer’s market. I stole this awesome ingredient combination from the always-inspiring Sarah and topped a salad with goat cheese, avocado and fresh cranberry sauce.

(Almost) Classic Tuna Salad

2

I had a can of tuna. I added spicy mustard, finely diced onion and celery and crushed tomato. Threw it on spinach, served it with avocado.

So, there you have it. It’s back to cold, gray and rainy, so I’m back to any-food-but-salad. Like this awesome plate of perfectly fresh and delicious fajita from last night. I think I’ve found a new favorite Mexican restaurant.

5

Are you a fan of salad? What are your favorite combinations?