World, meet my new love: Lentil flatbread. Now Socca (chickpea flatbread) will always have a special place in my heart, but after eating it a good 4+ times a week for, well, many months…it was time for a change. This “bread” is cheap, easy and beyond healthy.

Prep Work

Prep your lentils. By this, I mean leave them in a bowl of water overnight, rinse ’em, and then stick whatever you aren’t using in the fridge for later. As to what kind of lentils–I am using the vaguely labeled store brand “lentils.” If you want to be fancy and get a specific color like green or red, go for it!

Lentil Flatbread

  • 2T chia seeds (I’m sure flax would work just as well, I just haven’t tried it)
  • 1/2 C soaked lentils
  • 2/3 to 3/4 C water

Run it all through a blender. Get a lightly oiled frying pan hot and pour in the lentil mix, spreading it around in an even layer. Cook, flip, cook.

Serve with dips, saucy Indian dishes, salads or just enjoy plain.

If you want to kick it up, add salt, pepper, curry powder, hot sauce or something else exciting to the “batter.”

Nutritional stats:

If you eat the whole thing yourself (and trust me, that’s not a problem), you’re getting a whopping 24g of protein and 33g of fiber. You aren’t going to find stats that good in a bar or cereal any time soon. Balance it out with pile of veggies and you have an amazing complete meal.